2023 Winners Announced at Celebratory Dinner in Killarney

2023 Winners Announced at Celebratory Dinner in Killarney

Jones Engineering Group Wins All Ireland Supreme Safety Awards 2023

The 32nd National Irish Safety Organisation / Northern Ireland Safety Group (NISO/NISG) Annual Safety Awards took place on 13 October 2023 at a special ceremony in Killarney at which the Supreme Safety Award winner for 2023, sponsored by Irving Oil Whitegate Refinery, was announced as Jones Engineering Group

The Supreme Safety Award is presented to the organisation that has shown consistently good or continuously improving health and safety performance over a number of years and an outstanding contribution to occupational safety, health and welfare during the previous year. The Awards are highly valued and regarded among health and safety professionals throughout the island of Ireland.

Other awards presented on the night include the Safety Representative of the Year Award 2023 in association with The Cpl Institute. The winner of the Safety Representative of the Year Award for 2023 was Mairead Connolly, Baxter Healthcare. The Runner Up prize was awarded to Keith O’Connor, Bulgari Ireland Ltd.

The Healthy Workplace Award, sponsored by Healthy Ireland, was won by John Graham Construction Ltd. The Healthy Workplace Award recognises the commitment of workplaces who promote health and wellbeing as a core element of the Health and Safety agenda.

The Occupational Health Award, supported by the Health and Safety Authority (HSA) and the Health and Safety Executive for Northern Ireland (HSENI), was jointly won by Bon Secours Hospital Dublin and Jones Engineering Group.

The Driving for Work Award was won by Adman Civil Projects Ltd. The Driving for Work Award requires entrants to demonstrate evidence of the following in relation to driving for work: policy, planning, practice, measuring performance and reviewing performance.

The awards, which demonstrate the positive and proactive culture of safety management in organisations, were supported by the Construction Industry Federation, Health and Safety Authority, Health and Safety Executive for Northern Ireland, Healthy Ireland and Irving Oil Whitegate Refinery.

The 59th Annual NISO Health and Safety Conference, which preceded the safety awards ceremony, was sponsored by Safety Direct (Main sponsor); EHS International and Glenveagh Properties plc (Gold Plus sponsors); GMC Utilities Group (Gold Sponsors); EHSWise, Jones Engineering Group and Occupli (Silver Plus Sponsors).

Neal Richmond TD, Minister of State at the Department of Enterprise, Trade and Employment with special responsibility for Business, Employment and Retail, along with Harry Galvin, NISO President and Wendy Beatty, Chair, NISG, presented awards to over 100 organisations from all around the island of Ireland. The Gold Award was won by Actavo (Ireland), the Silver Award by Winthrop Technologies Ltd. and the Bronze Award by Weltec Engineering Ltd.

The Excellence in Safety Award, which is presented to organisations that consistently achieved a high standard safety award for more than fifteen years, representing their continuous commitment to health and safety in their organisation, was won by Actavo (Ireland) Ltd., Colas Bitumen Emulsions (West) & Colas Contracting Ltd., Designer Group, Jones Engineering Group and PM Group.

A number of Exceptional High Achiever awards were presented to organisations that consistently achieved a high standard safety award for more than ten years, representing their continuous commitment to health and safety in their organisation. Recipients of this award include Aura Holohan Group, BAM Ireland, Bon Secours Hospital Dublin, Cork City Council, Ecolab, Fingal County Council, GMC Utilities Group Ltd., John Paul Construction, John Sisk and Son (Holdings) Ltd., Leo Lynch, Mainline Group, Merit Medical Ireland Ltd., P&D Lydon Ltd., TLI Group Ltd., W & H Alexander Ltd., Walls Construction Limited and Weltec Engineering Ltd.

Supported by the Construction Industry Federation (CIF), the construction category awards saw the following organisations emerge as winners: Mineral Extraction / Quarrying / Concrete Product Manufacturing Award, AG Paving & Building Products; House Building Award, Glenveagh Properties Plc; Specialist Contractor Award, Mivan Ltd.; Building Services Award, MSL Engineering Ltd.; Utility Services Award, GMC Utilities Group Ltd.; Civil Engineering Award, W & H Alexander Ltd.; Industrial / Commercial Award, John Sisk and Son (Holdings) Ltd.; Road Surfacing Award, Colas Bitumen Emulsions (West) & Colas Contracting Ltd.; Consulting Engineers Award, PM Group and the President’s Award for Construction was awarded to O’Connor Sutton Cronin.

Expressions of interest for the 2024 safety awards can be emailed to awards@niso.ie. Register with NISO / NISG to receive details of the 2024 Awards when available.

The full list of awards winners for 2023 can be found at: https://safetyawards.ie/winners/2023-winners/